An important thing you need to set up right at the beginning is the specific conditions of online booking. You can find them in the Settings under the Business tab - Scheduling.

You can handle most of the online booking settings right here, including how frequently your clients can book in your calendar, your services and staff, or your holidays, for example.

Under the tab Scheduling - Booking rules, you will find the following settings:

1. Online booking - time settings for creation of bookings.

  • Booking time limits: here, you specify how much time in advance your clients can book a service. You can set the earliest possible time for creating new bookings - it can be up to a year in advance (just make sure that this number is higher than the next one or No later than).
    The second setting, No later than, will define the time when clients can book the service at the latest. Just click on the drop-down list, and select the desired time - from one hour to 60 days.

  • Booking frequency or the interval that your customers book online on your calendar. The value is automatically set to 15 minutes. This means that clients see online booking times at 15- minute intervals. Again, you can easily specify a different value using the drop-down list.

    This value does not affect the duration of the booking in any way - in the calendar, the booking is always created for the entire duration of the service, according to your settings and the next available time for the booking, is offered only after this previous booking ends.

  • Booking permissions: this indicates what type of clients can make bookings on your calendar. The list includes the following categories:

    • Everyone - anyone who accesses your booking page can make a booking to your calendar, without any restrictions.

    • Existing clients - only the clients that have been previously saved in your personal database of clients (in your account, under the Clients tab). The system recognizes these clients based on the provided email address and phone number, so if such a client wants to finish the booking successfully, it is necessary that the entered contact details match the ones in your database.

    • Clients with a pass - this category cover only those clients that are saved in your personal database and have an assigned pass, as well. Read more about our feature of Passes & Vouchers here.

    • New clients and clients with a pass - apart from the clients with an assigned pass (described in the previous category), also the clients that are completely new and not saved in your database can finish the booking

    • Signed up clients - this category refers to the clients who are registered directly with Reservio, meaning that they have their own client account. Apart from that, there are no other restrictions applying to these clients.

      This way, you can decide if the bookings to your business will be allowed to anyone (including new clients), or if you keep a closed group of recurring clients.

  • Automatic booking approval: you can decide whether to approve each of the new bookings manually or leave the system to approve them automatically. Simply slide the button to the right to activate this option.

If you choose the option of manual approval of bookings, the system will always notify you of a new booking request first, and only after its approval will the client receive a confirmation that the booking is valid.

Manual confirmation of bookings will give you a better overview of all the appointments on your calendar, but compared to automatic approval, this option can be more time-consuming.

2. Cancellation - Time settings for cancellation of bookings.

In this section, you set how far in advance your clients can cancel their bookings. Apart from the specific time range, there is a possibility to pick: never or anytime (which either does not allow cancellations at all or allows them at any time - even two minutes before the appointment).

3. Reminders.

In this very important part. You can set whether the client receives a reminder notification before the appointment or not, along with how far in advance before an appointment this reminder is sent.


This pays off, especially for bookings that are planned in advance. This setting also applies to SMS notifications (if you have them active).

The system allows you to pick between 1 hour and 30 days before the time of the appointment. If you decide not to send reminders to your clients, make sure to select Don’t send.

Did this answer your question?